About GWFO

Staff and Personnel

The GWFO secretariat, based at the University of Saskatchewan, is responsible for the planning and coordination of network activities, ensuring the continued operation and proper functioning of the facility, tracking and reporting usage metrics, and liaison with management, oversight, and advisory committees in the execution of these tasks.


Chris DeBeer

Chris DeBeer
Director of Operations and Science

University of Saskatchewan


Stacey Dumanski

Stacey Dumanski
Outreach Coordinator

University of Saskatchewan


Cal Hamm

Cal Hamm
Director of Finance

University of Saskatchewan


Monica Morrison

Monica Morrison
Knowledge Mobilization Specialist

University of Saskatchewan


Stephen O'Hearn

Stephen O'Hearn
IT Coordinator and Data Management Team Lead

University of Saskatchewan


Joni Onclin
HR and Facilities Manager

University of Saskatchewan


Dr. John Pomeroy

Dr. John Pomeroy FRSC, FRGS, AGU Fellow
Director

University of Saskatchewan


Jesse Witow

Jesse Witow
Digital Services Coordinator

University of Saskatchewan


The GWFO facility leads oversee and direct operations and data collection at the instrumented sites, laboratories, and deployable systems, or work directly with others responsible for the sites to support operations and act as GWFO liaisons. The leads are professors and faculty from our partner institutions who supervise technical and data management staff.

Name Institution Facilities
George Arhonditsis University of Toronto Scarborough
  • GWFO UTSC Aquatic Biogeochemistry and Food Web Unit
 george.arhonditsis@utoronto.ca
Jennifer Baltzer Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Smith Creek
  • Kakisa and Tathlina Lakes
  • Bogg Creek and surround areas
  • Baker Creek
  • Peace-Athabasca Delta
  • Dehcho Lake Sampling Network
  • Fire Ecology Network
  • GWFO Centre for Cold Regions and Water Science (CCRWS )
 jbaltzer@wlu.ca
Helen Baulch University of Saskatchewan
  • Buffalo Pound Lake
  • GWFO Saskatchewan Water Chemistry and Ecology Laboratory
  • GWFO Prairie & Boreal Research
 helen.baulch@usask.ca
Sean Carey McMaster University
  • Wolf Creek Research Basin
  • Tombstone Water Observatory
 careysk@mcmaster.ca
Steven Cooke Carleton University

 steven.cooke@carleton.ca
Irena Creed University of Toronto Scarborough
  • GWFO UTSC Harmful Algae Analytical Unit
  • GWFO-UTSC Aquatic Chemistry Laboratory/TRACES Centre
 irena.creed@utoronto.ca
Claude Duguay University of Waterloo
  • GWFO-Cryospheric Remote Sensing Laboratory
 crduguay@uwaterloo.ca
Aaron Fisk University of Windsor
  • Lake Ontario
  • Lake Huron
  • Lake Erie
  • GWFO Real-Time Aquatic Ecosystem Observation Network (RAEON)
  • GWFO Centre for Advanced Microscopy and Materials Characterization (CAMMC)
  • GWFO Chemical Tracer Laboratory
  • GWFO Environmental Genomics Facility
  • GWFO Freshwater Chemistry Lab
 afisk@uwindsor.ca
Warren Helgason University of Saskatchewan
  • Kenaston/Brightwater Creek Mesonet Site
  • Fen - Boreal Ecosystem Research and Monitoring Sites (BERMS), White Gull Creek, SK
  • Old Jack Pine (OJP) - Boreal Ecosystem Research and Monitoring Sites (BERMS), White Gull Creek, SK
  • Old Black Spruce (OBS) - Boreal Ecosystem Research and Monitoring Sites (BERMS), White Gull Creek, SK
  • Clavet Livestock and Forage Centre of Excellence
  • GWFO Prairie & Boreal Research
 warren.helgason@usask.ca
Andrew Ireson University of Saskatchewan
  • St. Denis National Wildlife Area
  • Duck Lake
  • Hannin Creek
 andrew.ireson@usask.ca
Tim Jardine University of Saskatchewan
  • Saskatchewan River Delta
 tim.jardine@usask.ca
Homa Keyrollah Pour Wilfrid Laurier University
  • GWFO-Remote Sensing of Environmental Change (ReSEC) Lab
 hpour@wlu.ca
Juewen Liu University of Waterloo
  • GWFO-Nanobiosensors
 liujw@uwaterloo.ca
Bruce MacVicar University of Waterloo
  • Wilket Creek in Toronto
  • Morningside Creek in Toronto
  • Ganatsekaigon Creek in Pickering
 bmacvica@uwaterloo.ca
Phil Marsh Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Havikpak Creek
  • Trail Valley Creek
  • GWFO Wilfrid Laurier University Trail Valley Research Basin
 pmarsh@wlu.ca
Jeffrey McDonnell University of Saskatchewan
  • GWFO-MOST Multi-purpOse Slope Testing facility & Isotope Lab
 jeffrey.mcdonnell@usask.ca
Bryan Neff Western University
  • GWFO Western Aquatic Performance Facility (WAPF)
 bneff@uwo.ca
John Pomeroy University of Saskatchewan
  • Athabasca Glacier Research Basin
  • Bologna Glacier
  • Helen Creek Research Basin
  • Marmot Creek Research Basin
  • Peyto Glacier Research Basin
  • Burstall Creek
  • Fortress Mountain
  • GWFO Coldwater Lab
  • GWFO Smart Water Systems Lab (SWSL)
  • GWFO Prairie & Boreal Research
 john.pomeroy@usask.ca
Mike Rennie Lakehead University
  • Lake Superior
 mrennie@lakeheadu.ca
Feredioun Rezanezhad University of Waterloo
  • Turkey Lakes Watershed
  • Elora Research Station (University of Guelph)
  • rara Charitable Research Reserve
  • GWFO Ecohydrology Laboratory
  • GWFO-Critical zone experimental systems (CZOEX)
 frezanez@uwaterloo.ca
David Rudolph University of Waterloo
  • Alder Creek Smart Watershed
  • GWFO Hydrogeology Field Research
 drudolph@uwaterloo.ca
Mark Servos University of Waterloo
  • Inverhaugh
  • West Montrose
  • Kiwnis Park
  • EIT
  • Fairway
  • Manheim
  • Glen Morris
 mservos@uwaterloo.ca
Heidi Swanson Wilfrid Laurier University
  • GWFO Wilfrid Laurier University Deployables
 heidi.swanson@uwaterloo.ca
Philippe van Cappellen University of Waterloo
  • Urban Ecohydrology 1: Ajax Sewersheds (East&West)
  • Urban Ecohydrology 2: Richmond Hill stormwater pond
  • Urban Ecohydrology 3: Lake Wilcox (Richmond Hill)
  • Urban Ecohydrology 4: Bioretention cell (Mississauga)
  • Urban Ecohydrology 5: Stormwater ponds (Kitchener)
  • Eastern Basin Lake Erie
  • Fanshawe Reservoir
  • GWFO Ecohydrology Laboratory
  • GWFO Aquatic Toxicology and Ecosystem Remediation Laboratory
  • GWFO-Aqueous Analysis Lab (AAL)
  • GWFO-Critical zone experimental systems (CZOEX)
  • GWFO-Multi-Scale Environmental Particle Analysis Lab (MEPAL)
  • GWFO-Aquatic Toxicology and Ecosystem Remediation Laboratory
  • GWFO-Waterloo Aquatic Threats in Environmental Research (WATER) Laboratory
 pvc@uwaterloo.ca
Mike Waddington McMaster University
  • Georgian Bay Biosphere
 jmw@mcmaster.ca
Claudia Wagner-Riddle University of Guelph

 cwagnerr@uoguelph.ca
Mathew Wells University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Lake Erie - Pigeon Bay
 m.wells@utoronto.ca
Cherie Westbrook University of Saskatchewan
  • Sibbald Wetlands
 cherie.westbrook@usask.ca
Colin Whitfield University of Saskatchewan
  • GWFO Saskatchewan Water Chemistry and Ecology Laboratory
 colin.whitfield@usask.ca
Brent Wolfe Wilfrid Laurier University  bwolfe@wlu.ca
Marguerite Xenopoulos Trent University
  • Lake Erie - Pigeon Bay
  • GWFO Water Quality Centre (WQC)
 mxenopoulos@trentu.ca
The GWFO Data Management Team includes staff at each of the major partner insitutions with oversight and direction from experienced faculty representatives at these universities, as well as high-level guidance from the SMC.  This team is responsible for the management, retention, use, and dissemination of data collected through GWFO.   
Name Position Institution  Phone  Email
Anju Air Data Manager Wilfrid Laurier University  aair@wlu.ca
Gordon Drewitt Data Manager McMaster University  g.b.drewitt@gmail.com
Xing (Logan) Fang Model Test Basins University of Saskatchewan  xing.fang@usask.ca
Katelyn Johnson Research and Operations Director,
RAEON
University of Windsor  katejohn@uwindsor.ca
Kyle Kendall Research Data Analyst University of Saskatchewan  kyle.kendall@usask.ca
Laleh Moradi Data Support Analyst University of Saskatchewan  laleh.moradi@usask.ca
Stephen O'Hearn IT Coordinator and Data Management Team Lead University of Saskatchewan  (306) 966-8218  stephen.ohearn@usask.ca
Bhaleka Persaud Research Data Manager,
Ecohydrology Research Group
University of Waterloo  (519) 888-4567
ext. 31327
 bd2persaud@uwaterloo.ca
Michael Steelworthy Data Librarian
Coordinator, Research Data Services
Wilfrid Laurier University  (519) 884-0710
ext. 3574
 msteeleworthy@wlu.ca
Jesse Witow Digital Services Coordinator University of Saskatchewan  jesse.witow@usask.ca

GWFO technicians are responsible for the installation, operation, and maintenance of field equipment and deployable systems, and for gathering data from these systems and liaising with data managers to ensure preservation and accessibility of data.  Technicians assist and/or manage GWFO laboratories and oversee sample analyses and maintenance of lab equipment.    

Name Position & Institution GWFO Facility  Email
Katelynn Johnson

RAEON Research and Operations Director,
University of Windsor

University of Windsor (Admin)

 katejohn@uwindsor.ca
Todd Leadley

Field Director,
University of Windsor

Sites:
Lakes Erie, Huron, Ontario

Deployable:
REAON Electrofishing boats and research vessels, temperature loggers, multiparameter sondes, DO loggers, in situ eDNA collectors, field support equipment

 leadley@uwindsor.ca
Karly Dominato

Technician,
University of Windsor

Lab:
GWFO Freshwater Chemistry Lab

 dominatk@uwindsor.ca
Chelsea Salter

Field Technician,
University of Windsor

Deployable:
RAEON Modular microelectrode array landers (Lake Erie)

Lydia Paulic

Technician,
University of Windsor

Lab:
GWFO Chemical Tracer Laboratory

 paulic@uwindsor.ca
Alex Smith

Field Technician,
University of Windsor

Deployable:
RAEON RealTime Sensory Arrays (Lake Huron and Kwartha Lakes)

 absmith9@uwindsor.ca
Calin Burmaster

Glider Pilot – Tech,
University of Windsor

Deployable:
RAEON Slocum gliders (Lakes Erie, Huron, Ontario and Superior)

Sharon Lackie

Technician,
University of Windsor

Lab:
Centre for Advanced Microscopy and Materials Characterization

 sharonl@uwindsor.ca
Shelby Mackie

Technician,
University of Windsor

Lab:
GWFO Environmental Genomics Facility

 stoews@uwindsor.ca
Lauren Stoot

Field Technician,
Carleton University

Sites:
Trent-Severn Water Way, Queen's Biological Station - Accoustic telemetry receivers (Lake Huron , Lake Ontario)

 laurenstoot@cunet.carleton.ca
Jacob Lasci

Technician,
University of Western Ontario

Lab:
GWFO Western Aquatic Performance Facility

 jlasci@uwo.ca
Oghenemise Abirhire

Technician,
Trent University

Sites:
Laurentian Great Lakes and other quatic ecosystems within the Great Lakes Basin, including stream and rivers, the Kawartha Lakes and the Kawartha Highland Lakes - PCO2 sensor, multiparameter water quality sampler, WhizPro

Lab:
GWFO Water Quality Centre (WQC)

 oghenemiseabirhire@trentu.ca
Nolan Pearce

Technician,
Trent University

Sites:
Laurentian Great Lakes and other aquatic ecosystems within the Great Lakes Basin, including stream and rivers, the Kawartha Lakes and the Kawartha Highland Lakes - slocum gliders

Lab:
GWFO Water Quality Centre (WQC)

 nolanpearce@trentu.ca
Vedanti Ghatwala

Technician,
Trent University

Sites:
Laurentian Great Lakes and other quatic ecosystems within the Great Lakes Basin, including stream and rivers, the Kawartha Lakes and the Kawartha Highland Lakes - slocum gliders

Lab:
GWFO Water Quality Centre (WQC)

 vedantighatwala@trentu.ca
Chair Tong Chen

Technician,
University of Toronto Scarborough

Lab/Deployable:
UTSC Harmful Algae Analytical Unit

Antonio Adamo

Technician,
University of Toronto Scarborough

Lab:
GWFO Aquatic Chemistry Laboratory/TRACES Centre

 tony.adamo@utoronto.ca
Pasquale Benvenuto

Technician,
University of Toronto Scarborough

Lab:
GWFO Aquatic Chemistry Laboratory/TRACES Centre

 pasquale.benvenuto@utoronto.ca
Diego Mendoza Bacca

Project Manager,
University of Toronto Scarborough

 

 diego.mendoza@utoronto.ca
David Aldred

Technician,
University of Toronto Scarborough

Lab:
GWFO-Aquatic Biogeochemistry and Food Web Unit

 d.aldred@utoronto.ca
Rosy Tutton

Field Technician,
McMaster University

Sites:
Wolf Creek Research Basin, Tombstone Waters Observatory

 tuttor1@mcmaster.ca
David Barret

Field Technician,
McMaster University

Sites:
Wolf Creek Research Basin, Tombstone Waters Observatory

 barred3@mcmaster.ca
Paul Moore

Field Technician,
McMaster University

Sites:
Georgian Bay Sites

Michael Treberg

Field Technician,
McMaster University

Sites:
Fort McMurray sites

 treberm@mcmaster.ca
Gena Braun

Technician,
Wilfrid Laurier University

Lab:
GWFO Centre for Cold Regions and Water Science (CCRWS )

 gbraun@wlu.ca
Alex Maclean

Technician,
Wilfrid Laurier University

Sites:
Trail Valley Creek, Havikpak Creek

Deployable:
GWFO-Remote Sensing of Environmental Change (ReSEC) Lab

 amaclean@wlu.ca
Ana Sniderhan

Technician,
Wilfrid Laurier University

Sites:
Baker Creek, Trail Valley Creek, Havikpak Creek, Fire Ecology Network, Bogg Creek and surrounding areas,

Lab:
Centre for Cold Regions and Water Science

Deployable:
GWFO Wilfrid Laurier University Deployables

 asniderhan@wlu.ca
Kristen Nikel

Technician,
Wilfrid Laurier University

Sites:
Kakisa/Tathlina Lake, Dehcho Lake Sampling Network, and the Peace-Athabasca Delta.

Lab:
Centre for Cold Regions and Water Science

Deployable:
GWFO Wilfrid Laurier University Deployables

 knikel@wlu.ca
Julia Gyapay

Field Technician,
Wilfrid Laurier University

Sites:
Havikpak Creek, Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk Highway, Smith Creek, Kakisa and Tathlina Lakes, Bogg Creek and surrounding areas, Trail Valley Creek, Baker Creek, Peace-Athabasca Delta, Fire Ecology Network, Dehcho Lake Sampling Network

 jgyapay@wlu.ca
Isabel Hilgendag

Field Technician,
Wilfrid Laurier University

Sites:
Havikpak Creek, Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk Highway, Smith Creek, Kakisa and Tathlina Lakes, Bogg Creek and surrounding areas, Trail Valley Creek, Baker Creek, Peace-Athabasca Delta, Fire Ecology Network, Dehcho Lake Sampling Network

 ihilgendag@wlu.ca
Marianne Vandergriendt

Technician,
University of Waterloo

Labs:
Aqueous Analysis Lab (AAL); Critical zone experimental systems (CZOEX); GWFO-Multi-Scale Environmental Particle Analysis Lab (MEPAL)

Deployable:
GWFO Ecohydrology Laboratory

 mrvander@uwaterloo.ca
Kiana Zolfaghari

Field Technician,
University of Waterloo

Sites:
Gatineau River and Saint-Maurice River watersheds, QC; Kenaston/Brightwater Creek Mesonet Site; Hopewell Creek, southern ON

Deployable:
GWFO-Cryospheric Remote Sensing Laboratory

 kiana.zolfaghari@uwaterloo.ca
Andrew Wiebe

Field Technician,
University of Waterloo

Sites:
Alder Creek Smart Watershed

Deployable:
Hydrogeology Field Research

 ajwiebe@uwaterloo.ca
Leslie Bragg

Technician,
University of Waterloo

Sites:
Grand River sites (Inverhaugh; West Montrose; Kiwanis Park; EIT; Fairway; Manheim; Glen Morris)

Deployable:
GWFO Ecohydrology Laboratory

Lab/Deployable:
GWFO-Waterloo Aquatic Threats in Environmental Research (WATER) Laboratory, GWFO Aquatic Toxicology and Ecosystem Remediation Laboratory

 lmbragg@uwaterloo.ca
Mohamad Zandieh

Field Technician,
University of Waterloo

Lab:
GWFO-Nanobiosensors

 mzandieh@uwaterloo.ca
Kieran Lehan

Deployable Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Deployable:
GWFO Coldwater Laboratory

Sites:
Marmot Creek, Fortress Mountain, Peyto Glacier, Athabasca Glacier, Helen Creek, Burstall Creek, Sibbald Wetland

 oue417@mail.usask.ca
Madison Harasyn

Deployable Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Deployable:
Smart Water Systems Laboratory Deployable System

 madison.harasyn@usask.ca
Hannah Koslowsky

Deployable Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Deployable:
GWFO Coldwater Laboratory

Sites:
Marmot Creek, Fortress Mountain, Peyto Glacier, Athabasca Glacier, Helen Creek, Burstall Creek, Sibbald Wetland

 hannah.koslowsky@usask.ca
Lindsay Langs

Deployable Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Deployable:
GWFO Coldwater Laboratory

Sites:
Marmot Creek, Fortress Mountain, Peyto Glacier, Athabasca Glacier, Helen Creek, Burstall Creek, Sibbald Wetland

 lindsey.langs@usask.ca
Alistair Wallace

Deployable Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Deployable:
Smart Water Systems Laboratory Deployable System

 alistair.wallace@usask.ca
Cody David

Field Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Sites:
Brightwater Creek, Clavet, BERMS (Whitegull Creek)

Deployable:
GWFO Prairie & Boreal Research

 cody.david@usask.ca
Bruce Johnson

Field Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Sites:
Brightwater Creek, Clavet, BERMS (Whitegull Creek)

Deployable:
GWFO Prairie & Boreal Research

 bruce.johnson@usask.ca
Seth Amankwah

Field Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Sites:
St. Denis National Wildlife Area, Borden

 seth.amankwah@usask.ca
Katy Nugent

Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Sites:
Buffalo Pound, Sask River Delta, St Denis

Deployable:
GWFO Prairie & Boreal Research

Deployable/Lab:
GWFO Saskatchewan Water Chemistry and Ecology Laboratory

 katy.nugent@usask.ca
Kim Janzen

Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Lab:
GWFO-MOST Multi-purpOse Slope Testing facility & Isotope Lab

 kim.janzen@usask.ca
Cody Millar

Technician,
University of Saskatchewan

Lab:
GWFO-MOST Multi-purpOse Slope Testing facility & Isotope Lab

 cody.millar@usask.ca