About GWFO

Management and Advisory Committees

The SMC provides direction and ensures effective and efficient operation of GWFO. This committee includes representatives from the major partner institutions. The SMC oversees financial and operational aspects of the program and provides strategic direction to ensure the facility is meeting the needs of partners and users.


Jennifer Baltzer

Jennifer Baltzer
Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair in Forests and Global Change

 Wilfrid Laurier University

Helen Baulch

Helen Baulch
Associate Professor

 University of Saskatchewan

Sean Carey

Sean Carey
Professor

 McMaster University

Aaron Fisk

Aaron Fisk
Professor

 University of Windsor

Dr. Lawrence Martz

Lawrence Martz
Professor Emeritus

 University of Saskatchewan

Deborah McGregor

Deborah McGregor
Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Environmental Justice

 York University

Al Pietroniro

Al Pietroniro
Professor

 University of Calgary

Dr. John Pomeroy

John Pomeroy FRSC, FRGS, AGU Fellow
Distinguished Professor

Canada Research Chair in Water Resources and Climate Change,
UNESCO Chair in Mountain Water Sustainability,
Director:
     Global Water Futures Programme,
     Global Water Futures Observatories Project,
     USask Centre for Hydrology,
     Coldwater Laboratory, Canmore, Alta.

 University of Saskatchewan

David Rudolph

David Rudolph
Professor

 University of Waterloo

Corinne Schuster-Wallace

Corinne Schuster-Wallace
Executive Director, Global Institute for Water Security

 University of Saskatchewan

Julie Theriault

Julie Theriault
Professor
Canada Research Chair in Extreme Winter Weather Events

 University of Quebec at Montreal

 Philippe Van Cappellen

Philippe Van Cappellen
Professor
Canada Excellence Research Chair Laureate in Ecohydrology

 University of Waterloo

The GWFO User Advisory Panel is comprised of representatives from local communities and Indigenous Nations, government, water management, industry, conservation authorities, municipalities, and other practitioner and data user groups. The UAP provides insights into the user science and decision support needs underpinned by the GWFO data, provides recommendations and avenues for translating GWFO’s data to support the real-world impacts, and supports scientific exchange with private and public sectors. In addition, the panel provides strategic advice and is a catalyst in identifying new opportunities for enhancing the user-base for the GWFO data and services. See the UAP Terms of Reference.

Name Designation & Organization  Email
Khaled Akhtar River Forecast Engineer,
Alberta Environment and Parks
 khaled.akhtar@gov.ab.ca
Andrew Applejohn Executive Director, Programs,
Polar Knowledge Canada
Federal Government
 andrew.applejohn@polar-polaire.gc.ca
Lakshmin Bachu Principal Consultant, Water Resources,
Tetra Tech Canada
 lakshmin.bachu@tetratech.com
Oliver Brandes Chair,
Forum for Leadership on Water (FLOW)
 omb@uvic.ca
Tracy Broughton Executive Director,
SaskCanola
 tbroughton@saskcanola.com
Miranda Carlberg Executive Director,
Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment Environmental Protection Branch
 miranda.carlberg@gov.sk.ca
Patrick Cherneski Executive Director,
Prairie Provinces Water Board
 patrick.cherneski@ec.gc.ca
Aston Chipanshi Manager,
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
 aston.chipanshi@agr.gc.ca
Constance Chiremba Research Program Manager,
Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
 constance.chiremba@saskwheat.ca
Ryan Connon Hydrologist,
Government of the Northwest Territories
 ryan_connon@gov.nt.ca
Chris Derksen Senior Research Scientist,
Environment and Climate Change Canada Climate Research Division
 chris.derksen@canada.ca
Sameer Dhalla Director,
Development and Engineering, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority
 sameer.dhalla@trca.ca
Darryl Dormuth Manager, Hydrometrics,
Saskatchewan Water Security Agency
 darryl.dormuth@wsask.ca
Katherine Finn Project Manager,
Bridge to Land Water Sky
 bridgetolandwatersky@gmail.com
Alfred Gamble Executive Assistant,
Beardys and Okemasis First Nation Lands Department
 algamble@hotmail.com
Heather Jirousek Director,
Water Resources Branch, Yukon Government
 heather.jirousek@gov.yk.ca
Anthony Johnston Special Projects Researcher,
Mistawasis Nehiyawak
 anthony.b.johnston@gmail.com
Erika Klyszejko Engineering Advisor,
International Joint Commission
 erika.klyszejko@ottawa.ijc.org
Maxine Koskie National Education Coordinator,
Project WET Canada
 maxinekoskie@gmail.com
Aislin Livingstone Water Program Manager,
DataStream Initiative
 aislin@datastream.org
Stephanie McFadyen Manager,
Health Canada Water Quality Division
 stephanie.mcfadyen@hc-sc.gc.ca
Wanda McFadyen Executive Director,
Assiniboine River Basin Initiative
 wmcfadyen@arb-int.com
Russ Munro Director of Saskatoon Water,
City of Saskatoon
 russ.munro@saskatoon.ca
Peter Onyshko Flood Hazard Specialist,
Alberta Environment and Protected Areas
 peter.onyshko@gov.ab.ca
Brian Perry Engineering Advisor for Flood Modeling
Natural Resources Canada
 brian.perry@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca
Brady Pollock Executive Director, Environmental Assessment & Stewardship,
Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment
 brady.pollock@gov.sk.ca
Geoff Reimer Director Environment,
Southern Chiefs Organization
 geoff.reimer@scoinc.mb.ca
Debra Shewfelt CEO,
Rise Resource Advisory Corp
 debra.shewfelt@gmail.com
Stuart Slattery National Science Analyst,
Ducks Unlimited Canada
 s_slattery@ducks.ca
Stephen Stanley Senior Vice President,
EPCOR Inc
 sstanley@epcor.com
Tom Tang Environmental and Climate Change Modelling Team Lead,
Alberta Environment and Parks
 tom.tang@gov.ab.ca
Efrem Teklemariam Manager,
Water Resources Engineering, Manitoba Hydro
 eteklemariam@hydro.mb.ca
Julie Van de Valk Engineering Advisor,
Public Safety Canada
 julie.vandevalk@ps-sp.gc.ca
Henry David (Hank) Venema CEO and Senior Engineer,
Strategic Systems Engineering Inc.
 hank@strategiccc.ca
Gillian Walker Manager of Planning and Performance,
Environment and Climate Change Canada
 gillian.walker@ec.gc.ca
Scott Wright Director,
Livestock and Forage Center of Excellence
 scott.wright@usask.ca
Ram Yerubandi Research Manager, Water Science and Technology,
Environment and Climate Change Canada
 ram.yerubandi@canada.ca
Jim Young Data Lead,
Canada Water Agency
 jim.young@ec.gc.ca
Rebecca Zagozewski Executive Director,
Saskatchewan First Nations Water Association Inc.
 rzagozewski@sfnwa.ca

The GWFO Oversight Committee currently is comprised of the Vice Presidents Research from the University of Saskatchewan, University of Waterloo, McMaster University, and Wilfrid Laurier University, as well as the GWFO Director.  The role of this committee is to oversee the management of GWFO and to ensure that the MSI-CFI grant achieves the goals proposed in its institutional application, in accordance with the USask and federal policies and procedures.


Chair


Baljit Singh

Baljit Singh
Vice-President Research

 University of Saskatchewan

Members


Charmaine Dean

Charmaine Dean
Vice President, University Research

 University of Waterloo

Karen Mossman

Karen Mossman
Vice-President, Research

 McMaster University

Jonathan Newman

Jonathan Newman
Vice President: Research

 Wilfrid Laurier University

John Pomeroy

John Pomeroy
Director, GWFO

 University of Saskatchewan